Information for Governments

The Initiation Stage is the first step in restricting idling of heavy-duty vehicles within a jurisdiction.   Local governments are responsible for adopting the Texas Comission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Idling Limitation Rule and signing the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) to permit rule enforcement by local law enforcement personnel.  Upon request, North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) staff will be available to provide information on these restrictions to council members, commissioners, and city/county staff. 

Note: For State Implementation Plan (SIP) reporting purposes, please notify Huong Duong at (817) 704-5678 or upon adopting the rule and signing the MOA.

Mail three (3) original, signed MOAs and one (1) copy of Adopted Rule to:

Michael Regan
PO Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087
(512) 239-2988

The Education Stage is the next step in restricting idling by promoting awareness of local idle restrictions and providing information to truck drivers on available technologies and funding to reduce excessive idling.  NCTCOG will develop regional anti-idling street signs, driver education brochures, and an idling complaint hotline and Web site to report idling violators.  Local governments are responsible for ordering and installing signs in areas traditionally known for excessive idling and promoting awareness of restrictions throughout the jurisdiction.

The enforcement stage is the final step in implementing idling restrictions. Local governments are responsible for determining necessary enforcement personnel and procedures to identify and cite violators, and log citations for reporting. NCTCOG staff will provide training on the NCTCOG Emissions Database (NED), which was developed to assist local law enforcement personnel in tracking vehicle emissions violations. NCTCOG staff will also help facilitate discussions among agencies pertaining to the potential availability and dissemination of state funding.

Note:  NED is available to all law enforcement personnel in nine of the ten counties in the Dallas-Fort Worth ozone nonattainment area that have signed an inter-local agreement with NCTCOG. These counties include Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, and Tarrant. For more information on the NED, please contact Jason Brown at (817) 704-2514 or