SolSmart Helping Make North Texas Solar-Friendly


Program aids air quality, economy while providing participants national recognition



Contact: Brian Wilson


Arlington, Texas –The North Central Texas Council of Governments recently partnered with SolSmart, a national solar-designation program, to recognize five local cities making strides toward becoming solar-friendly.

Each city accumulated points across eight categories representing actions municipalities can take to become more solar-friendly, earning Gold, Silver or Bronze status. The results are as follows:


  • Gold – Cedar Hill
  • Silver – Kennedale
  • Bronze – Denton, Plano and Lewisville

The designated cities were judged across the following categories: Permitting; Planning, Zoning, and Development; Inspection; Construction Codes; Solar Rights; Utility Engagement; Community Engagement; and Market Development and Finance.


NCTCOG served as a SolSmart adviser to six local municipalities, identifying barriers and opportunities for improvement to their permitting, inspection and zoning processes.


Removing or lowering these “soft costs” saves entities time and money, which ultimately helps consumers. Streamlined processes also may attract solar companies to the region, thereby increasing job prospects for North Texans.


NCTCOG worked to educate staff from over 20 cities and counties about solar through webinars, trainings and meetings so that they may be equipped to address solar-related issues. Each community sets an example for other cities considering joining the solar movement, which can result in a wide range of benefits.


For example, the five megawatts of solar capacity installed within the municipal boundaries of the local SolSmart-designated cities is estimated to displace almost 20,000 pounds of harmful emissions annually, according the US Environmental Protection Agency.


For more information on the SolSmart program or to get involved, visit

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including 16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit