Regional 10-Year Project List, Outreach to be Explored at Public Meetings Nov. 7-15

North Texans can provide input on transportation recommendations at public meetings, online

Nov. 3, 2016 (Arlington, Texas) – The regional 10-year plan project list and public involvement techniques will be discussed during public meetings at 6:30 p.m. Nov. 7 in Richardson, 2:30 p.m. Nov. 9 in Arlington and 6:30 p.m. Nov. 15 in Fort Worth.

House Bill 20 was recently passed by the 84th Texas Legislature and requires that regions develop a 10-year plan to identify major projects to be implemented over that time frame. In June 2016, staff began working on the 10-year planning effort in coordination with regional partners and the Texas Department of Transportation District offices. A draft of the regional 10-year plan project list and map as well as details on the project prioritization process will be presented for public review and comment. 

Additionally, the NCTCOG Transportation Department seeks to inform North Texans about transportation and air quality projects and planning and involve them in the decision-making process. Staff will present attendees with an overview of outreach and communications efforts outlined in the Public Participation Plan as well as address changing communications trends.

Other topics to be discussed at the meetings include the end of the 2016 ozone season and Conformity approval for Mobility 2040.

Following the public meeting in Arlington, a video recording will be available online at


About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the
NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit



Amanda Wilson (817) 695-9284

Jason Brown (817) 704-2514