NCTCOG to Provide Transportation Update to Johnson County


Regional Transportation Council to consider transportation plan in June


Contact: Brian Wilson
(817) 704-2511

Arlington, Texas – Johnson County’s population is projected to grow to more than 262,000 by 2045. This is an increase of nearly 100,000 from 2017, when about 165,000 called the county home.
This kind of growth is not new to North Texas. The region has a current population of over 7 million and consistently adds 1 million or more people per decade, putting needs such as transportation at the forefront.

Kevin Feldt, a program manager with the North Central Texas Council of Governments, will provide an update on the long-range Metropolitan Transportation Plan (Mobility 2045) during the Greater Johnson County Transportation Coalition meeting May 23. The meeting is scheduled for 9 a.m. at the Burleson Recreation Center, 550 NW Summercrest Blvd.

Mobility 2045 is expected to be considered by the Regional Transportation Council in June. The RTC serves as the transportation policymaking body for the 12-county Dallas-Fort Worth area. The $135 billion Metropolitan Transportation Plan will define the long-term vision for the region’s transportation system and guide spending of federal and State funds. Mobility 2045 will include funding for highways, freight, transit and bicycle-pedestrian facilities that help reduce congestion and improve air quality.
Feldt will discuss an overview of transportation planning, including upcoming projects slated for Johnson County and the process involved in completing them. With the region’s population expected to eclipse 11 million by 2045, a comprehensive strategy relying on roadways, passenger rail and bicycle-pedestrian facilities is necessary. And input from residents who use the system helps planners make the best decisions with available funding.

“In Dallas-Fort Worth, we rely on cooperation to get transportation projects done,” Feldt said. “This involves officials from all levels of government – federal, State and local. But it starts with those who use the transportation system every day, who we rely on to help us address the right needs. We have limited resources, so the input of everyone is essential to the process.”
While the $135 billion that Mobility 2045 would dedicate to regional transportation is a substantial sum, there are many more priorities that cannot be funded. The MTP lays out a plan using revenue that is projected to be available. It is not a wish list.

The following projects are planned for Johnson County in the coming years.

  • Widening/realignment of FM 157 from US 287 to US 67

  • US 377 Cresson Bypass

  • FM 917/BNSF grade separation and realignment in Joshua

  • IH 35W/FM 917 interchange reconstruction and one-way frontage road conversion (Ricky Lane to US 67)

  • Widening of FM 3391 (Renfro Road) from IH 35W to CR 602 in Burleson

  • Alsbury Road Extension in Burleson

  • Reconstruction/realignment of FM 157 in Venus

About the Regional Transportation Council:
The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region's transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC's 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area's transportation providers. More information can be found at

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including 16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit
For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit
# # #