NCTCOG to Provide Residents Mobility Plan update

 AirCheckTexas on-site processing to be offered at public meetings

Contact: Brian Wilson
(817) 704-2511

Arlington, Texas -- The North Central Texas Council of Governments will present an overview and timeline for the region’s long-range transportation plan and process AirCheckTexas vehicle repair and replacement applications during public meetings in October.

Residents can provide input on Mobility 2045 at public meetings on Oct. 10 (Fort Worth), Oct. 11 (Arlington) and Oct. 16 (Garland). Mobility 2045 will define a long-term vision for the region’s multimodal transportation system and guide spending of federal and state transportation funds. This includes funding for highways, transit, bicycle and pedestrian facilities and other programs aimed at reducing congestion and improving air quality and quality of life. 

NCTCOG staff members will also be at the meetings to process applications for people interested in vehicle repair or replacement assistance through the AirCheckTexas Program. North Texans whose vehicles have failed the emissions portion of the state inspection in the past 30 days or are at least 10 years old may be eligible to receive up to $3,500 for their vehicles if they meet the income guidelines, which are based on family size. For example, a family of four earning $73,800 or less may qualify for assistance. 

Applicants attending one of the public meetings must provide proof of current registration, failed inspection report and annual household income. For more information about AirCheckTexas, visit or call 800-898-9103.

Updates on the following topics will also be provided:

  • Funding opportunities for vehicle and fueling infrastructure. The Texas Legislature recently approved changes to several funding programs providing fleets and interested parties opportunities to upgrade higher-polluting machines and install alternative fuel infrastructure.
  • A high-occupancy vehicle technology upgrade. To benefit from the 50 percent peak-period discount on eligible HOV lanes, motorists must register their trips in advance. RTC policy includes a provision to explore a technology solution for the verification of auto occupancy rather than relying on manual enforcement. If successful, the technology solution could be implemented on all toll managed lanes in the region.
  • Regional Traffic Signal Retiming Program. A recently issued call for projects would competitively award Federal Highway Administration Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality funding for two programs that improve traffic operations through signal retiming and low-cost operational improvements.

Watch the Arlington meeting in real time by clicking the “live” tab at A recording of the presentations will also be posted at



Public Meeting Details


Tuesday, Oct.10, 2017

6 p.m.

Ella Mae Shamblee Library
1062 Evans Ave.
Fort worth, TX 76104


Wednesday, Oct. 11, 2017

2:30 p.m.

North Central Texas

Council of Governments

616 Six Flags Drive

Arlington, TX 76011



Monday, Oct. 16, 2017

6 p.m.

Garland Central Library

625 Austin St.
Garland, TX 75040




About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the
NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit



About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be