NCTCOG to Discuss Transportation Alternatives at Public Meetings


North Texans invited to provide input on regional topics beginning May 9

Contact: Amanda Wilson (817) 695-9284

Arlington, Texas) – NCTCOG invites residents to provide input about proposed projects that could improve bicycle-pedestrian access to schools and other parts of the region during public meetings in May.

Recommended Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside Program projects will be presented to the public at 6 pm May 9 in Richardson, 2:30 pm May 10 in Arlington and 6 pm May 15 in North Richland Hills. Approximately $23 million is available.

Additionally, staff will present information on a proposed process to select projects via various funding programs. Overall, approximately $345 million in federal funds is available. The projects will be categorized into approximately 11 programs based on similar goals. Project selection is proposed to occur in stages throughout 2017 and possibly into early 2018.

One of the primary responsibilities of a metropolitan planning organization is the development and maintenance of a Metropolitan Transportation Plan. The last comprehensive update of the MTP occurred in 2016 with the adoption of Mobility 2040.

Staff has initiated the development of a new Metropolitan Transportation Plan, Mobility 2045. This plan will reassess existing recommendations and include new demographics, financial forecasts and planning initiatives. Staff is working with partners to develop draft recommendations and will present an overview and proposed timeline for the plan.

NCTCOG is collaborating with military and community leaders for Joining Forces, a Regional Joint Land Use Study (JLUS) that will identify and recommend voluntary communications and land use strategies that support continued military capabilities.

During a JLUS, the cities and counties surrounding the military installation work with the installation to plan and carry out specific actions that will promote compatible community and economic growth. Staff will present project activities conducted to date as well as remaining public involvement opportunities.
Information on Clean Air Action Day and auto occupancy detection technology will also be available at the meetings.

Residents unable to attend a public meeting in person can still watch the presentations. A live streaming of the Arlington meeting will be available by clicking the "live" tab at
A recording of the presentations will also be available at


Public Meeting Details

Tuesday, May 9, 2017 6:00 pm
Richardson Civic Center
411 W Arapaho Road Richardson, TX 75080

Wednesday, May 10, 2017 2:30 pm
North Central Texas Council of Governments
616 Six Flags Drive, Arlington, TX 76011

Monday, May 15, 2017 6:00 pm
North Richland Hills Library
9015 Grand Ave North Richland Hills, TX 76180



About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the
NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit



About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region's transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC's 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area's transportation providers. More information can be found at