NCTCOG to Discuss Bicycle Connections, Transit in September

Public meetings on regional transportation topics begin Sept. 10
Brian Wilson

(Arlington, Texas) – Residents can learn more about a proposal to improve bicycle-pedestrian access through the heart of the Dallas-Fort Worth area and various other transportation-focused efforts during public meetings in September.

The North Central Texas Council of Governments will host a public meeting series beginning at 2:30 p.m. on Sept. 10 at its Arlington offices. Meetings are also scheduled for 6 p.m. Sept. 11 in Dallas and 6 p.m. Sept. 19 in North Richland Hills.

Staff will present several improvements and funding recommendations identified to fill gaps in the area’s expanding bicycle-pedestrian trail network. The public will hear about progress on the 53-mile Fort Worth-to-Dallas regional trail network and the Cotton Belt trail at the meetings.

Residents will also have the opportunity to learn about and comment on new transit projects being funded by the Federal Transit Administration through Fiscal Year 2018. The funds will be split among the following programs: Urbanized Area Formula, Enhanced Mobility of Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities, State of Good Repair, and Bus and Bus Facilities.

Additionally, information regarding the automated vehicle program and the deployment of AV fleets in North Texas will be discussed at the public meetings. North Texas has become a leader in the deployment of this technology and seeks to continue cultivating partnerships to help it expand in the years to come.

A revision of the Public Participation Plan used to inform and engage the public about transportation initiatives will also be presented. The plan outlines the principles, goals and strategies for involving North Texans in the transportation and air quality planning process. This includes procedures for public comment periods. Staff will present proposed revisions to the plan that reflect new legislative requirements and the increasing role of video in public input opportunities.

Furthermore, residents will have the chance to provide input on the proposed modifications to transportation and related air quality planning tasks managed by the metropolitan planning organization. Proposed modifications to the Fiscal Year 2018 and Fiscal Year 2019 Unified Planning Work Program will be presented for discussion.

Other resources and information about proposed modifications to the list of funded projects, electric vehicle incentives, the Regional Smoking Vehicle Program and AirCheckTexas Drive a Clean Machine will also be highlighted during the meetings.

Watch the Arlington meeting live at For more information on the public meetings, visit

Public Meeting Details
Monday, Sept. 10, 2018
2:30 p.m.
North Central Texas Council of Governments
616 Six Flags Drive
Arlington, TX 76011

Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2018
6 p.m.
Meadows Conference Center
2900 Live Oak St.
Dallas, TX 75204

Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2018
6 p.m.
North Richland Hills Library
9015 Grand Ave.
North Richland Hills, TX 76180

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including 16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at
# # #