Free Car Care Clinics Aim to Explain Check Engine Light


Fixing the problem important for vehicle owners, air quality

Contact: Amanda Wilson
(817) 695-9284

Jason Brown
(817) 704- 2514

Arlington, Texas – Imagine you're driving with your family, you look down at the dash, and one of those dreaded lights comes on.

Check engine.

There is never a convenient time for this to happen, and it can elicit reactions ranging from frustration to fear.

So, what does it mean?

The North Central Texas Council of Governments is partnering with auto repair shops throughout the Dallas-Fort Worth area in April to sponsor Car Care Clinics geared toward explaining the check engine light. When the light is on, your vehicle won’t pass the annual Texas emissions inspection. That means you can’t get your car registered.

The free Car Care Clinics start April 2 and will allow you to speak with a certified technician about what may be wrong with your car. The full schedule of Car Care Clinics, which will take place in Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Parker and Tarrant counties, is below. Repairs may cost less than you think. Something as simple as a bad gas cap could be causing the problem. If your light is on, a service technician at any of the clinics can investigate the problem and discuss what may be involved in the repair. There is no obligation to get your car fixed.

And some vehicle owners may qualify for assistance with emissions repairs, if they meet certain income requirements. A NCTCOG staff member will be on hand to explain the AirCheckTexas Drive a Clean Machine Program, which will allow qualifying motorists to get their cars repaired for as little as a $30 copay so they can pass the emissions inspection. Income requirements for the program are available at A family of four earning $72,900 or less, for example, is eligible for a repair voucher worth up to $600. Their vehicles must also meet certain conditions.

NCTCOG partners with repair shops annually to provide motorists the opportunity to learn vehicle-maintenance tips. This is the first year there is a specific focus on vehicles with check engine lights on. For additional information, visit

Scheduled Car Care Clinics




Castrol Express Car Service (at Red Oak High School during the North Ellis County Business and Community Expo)

April 2
10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

220 State Highway 342
Red Oak, TX 75154

Rick and Ray's Auto Plaza

April 9
9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

2425 Cullen St.
Fort Worth, TX  76107

TAS #1 Denton

April 9
9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

521 W. University Drive
Denton, TX 76201

Christian Brothers Automotive

April 14
11 a.m. – 1 p.m.

156 Interstate Highway 20 West
Weatherford, TX 76086

Heller Automotive

April 16
10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

3104 S. Rigsbee Drive
Plano, TX 75074

Starkey Service Center

April 30
9 a.m. – 12 p.m.

918 W. Davis
Dallas, TX 75208


About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts. For more information on the
NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit


      About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers.

# # #