DFW Transportation-AQ Balance Gets Federal Approval


Mobility 2045 plan to improve transportation system may proceed




Arlington, Texas – The US Department of Transportation ruled in November that the Dallas-Fort Worth area's recently adopted Metropolitan Transportation Plan complies with federal air quality regulations, allowing current and future transportation projects to proceed.
State Highway 199, LBJ East, Interstate Highway 20/IH 820/US Highway 287 (the Southeast Connector) and transit on the Cotton Belt rail corridor are a few examples of projects where development and implementation may continue, providing needed congestion relief and associated air quality benefits in the rapidly growing region. The US Highway 380 corridor will also be studied to determine the best way to accommodate east-west travel in fast-growing Collin and Denton counties.

Mobility 2045: The Metropolitan Transportation Plan for North Central Texas contains $136.4 billion in transportation improvements to be made over the next 20-plus years. The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) approved the plan in June 2018. The plan allocates $17.5 billion more expenditures than Mobility 2040, which the new plan replaces.
The 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) may also proceed, according to the Department of Transportation. The TIP is a multiyear list of projects in the Dallas-Fort Worth area approved for federal, State and local funding. The program identifies roadway and transit projects programmed for construction within the next four years.
As the metropolitan planning organization for the 12-county Dallas-Fort Worth area, the RTC develops and implements transportation policies, projects and programs designed to improve mobility and air quality.
The region's long- and short-range transportation plans must comply with federal air quality regulations as 10 Dallas-Fort Worth area counties – Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise – are in nonattainment for ozone pollution.
RTC efforts have helped the Dallas-Fort Worth area improve air quality by reducing nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds.
Mobility 2045 not only uses a multimodal approach; it provides a substantial investment in the maintenance of existing infrastructure to serve the growing population.
Planned Improvements:
  • Freeways, tollways, arterials and HOV/managed lanes: $53.6 billion
  • Infrastructure maintenance: $36.8 billion
  • Rail and bus: $33.3 billion
  • Management and operations: $9.5 billion
  • Growth, development and land-use strategies: $3.2 billion

For more information on Mobility 2045, visit www.nctcog.org/mobility2045.
About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at www.nctcog.org.
About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development.
NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions. NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 229 member governments including 16 counties, 167 cities, 19 school districts and 27 special districts. For more information on the Transportation Department, visit www.nctcog.org/trans.