Cedar Hill's Franke Elected Chair of Regional Transportation Council


Tarrant County's Fickes and Denton County's Eads also named officers for 2017-18 



Contact: Brian Wilson


Amanda Wilson
(817) 695-9284



(Arlington, Texas) -- Cedar Hill Mayor Rob Franke will preside over the Regional Transportation Council for the next year after being elected chair of the 44-member transportation policymaking body for the Dallas-Fort Worth area on Thursday.served as chair over the past year, including during the recently concluded 85th Session of the Texas Legislature.

Franke assumes leadership of the RTC from Grand Prairie Mayor Ron Jensen, who served as chair over the past year, including during the recently concluded 85th Session of the Texas Legislature. Tarrant County Commissioner Gary Fickes is the new vice chair, while Denton County Commissioner Andy Eads was named secretary.


Dallas-Fort Worth area, the RTC oversees transportation planning for the fourth-largest metropolitan area in the country, which has a current population of more than 7 million people. The RTC guides the development of roadway, rail and bicycle-pedestrian plans and programs; allocates transportation funds; and recommends projects to the Texas Transportation Commission for other programs.

The policymaking body’s collaborative approach has helped the region develop a world-class, multimodal transportation system that provides residents options of how to get to work, school and recreational activities. The RTC also ensures transportation services are coordinated throughout the region and the metropolitan area complies with air quality regulations. Ten Dallas-Fort Worth area counties (Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise) are in nonattainment for ozone and are working toward meeting the federal standard.

In his eighth term as Cedar Hill mayor, Franke, has served on the RTC since 2008. He is chair of the RTC’s Multimodal/Intermodal/High-Speed Rail/Freight Subcommittee, which is involved in efforts to bring high-speed rail to the Dallas-Fort Worth area. As Texas Central Partners pursues high-speed rail from Dallas to Houston, plans for a separate line connecting Dallas and Fort Worth are underway. The Dallas-Fort Worth Core Express could link the Dallas-to-Houston corridor with another line that would provide access to Oklahoma and South Texas.

In addition to the possibility of high-speed rail, NCTCOG is beginning to undertake a new Metropolitan Transportation Plan, Mobility 2045, which will serve as a blueprint for transportation projects through 2045. By then, the region is expected to be home to more than 11 million people.

The newly elected officers will hold their current positions through June 2018.


About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the
NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit  www.nctcog.org/trans.

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit www.nctcog.org/trans/outreach/media.


About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974.

The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties.

The RTC's 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at  www.nctcog.org/.

# # #